{REVIEW} Avène Tolérance Extrême Emulsion

What is an emulsion? Just think of it as a lighter version of moisturizer. If you have oily skin, you could get away with just using emulsion and skip moisturizer (but of course make sure the ingredients are well formulated to be used as the last step). But for drier skin type people, emulsion could be your extra step of moisturizing before you seal it off with an actual moisturizer.

A few weeks ago, after ditching most of my moisturizer that I can no longer use, I’m left with not much choices and after reading rave reviews from people online, I decided to buy this product to try it for myself.

 

Description: Lightweight, milky texture allows for optimal fusion with the skin. Delivering soothing and moisturizing properties in a rapidly absorbing emulsion. Provides 6 hours of hydration in only 6 essential ingredients. Formulated without any preservatives, parabens or fragrances. This product is safe to use after dermatological procedures such as peels or laser treatments.

 

LRM_EXPORT_551234995994300_20190226_133902802-01

 

Ingredient(s) highlight: One of its main ingredient is their infamous thermal Spring water to soothes, softens and calms the skin. Squalane is listed as the second ingredient and I think by now you’d already know how much I love squalane. It has a very high emollience, an exceptional hydrator and can prevent ongoing loss of hydration. Behenyl alcohol is a saturated fatty alcohol and used as a thickening agent. Caprylic/capric triglyceride to moisturize & replenish the skin and glycerin which is a wonderful humectant. This product only has seven ingredients in total with no fragrance or preservatives.

UntitledCredit: cosdna

IMG20190225105609-01-01

 

Impression(s): It comes in a fairly compact squeeze tube with an airless dispenser. I usually love this kind of packaging but I have a love and hate relationship when it comes to this one. I’m not sure how to explain the packaging’s mechanism but it’s not like a normal squeeze hole. When you squeeze it, a vacuum-like pump will appear and dispense the product. It’s unique on its own way but I have to be really carefully while squeezing it or else I’d end up with more product than I had originally wanted. It’s worth mentioning that Avène uses sterile cosmetics technology so once opened, this product remains sterile throughout use and has no maximum storage period unless you break the tube and the product makes contact with air.

 

IMG20190218145054-01-01

 

Texture(s): The product itself is a milky white cream consistency. Not liquidy but not that thick either. It spreads beautifully on the skin. It leaves a silicone-like finish and I’m surprised (in a good way) because it doesn’t contain any silicone. This sets pretty fast and does feel lightweight on the skin. Does not leave my face feels greasy or oily which I love!

 

 

Usage(s): I prefer to use this at night and whenever I use chemical exfoliators. I have normal to oily skin type so using this alone is moisturizing enough for me but if you have drier skin type, you might want to mix in a few drops of your favorite facial oil. Before this, I tried mixing in a few drops of squalane oil because I heard it’s not moisturizing enough when used alone but I personally feel that it takes longer to set on the skin so now I skip using the squalane oil and I prefer it that way.

 

LRM_EXPORT_551284302719386_20190226_133952109-01

 

Result(s): At first I thought this was just on okay product. Don’t really see anything special about it UNTIL I develop this kind of dry patches on my eyes. I don’t think it’s just a regular dry patch though because it was getting really irritated, red and painful. I strongly believe that they are eyelids dermatitis. I tried using moisturizers and even my pure squalane oil but it stings really, really badly upon contact. Only the Etude House soonjung toner works to calm it down but it is not moisturizing enough. Then I tried using this emulsion a few days ago because it is supposed to be good for sensitive skin and WOW you could already see the big difference it does to my eyes! And it makes sense since this emulsion does not contain ingredients that could worsen the condition like fragrance or bad alcohol. The patches are not totally gone but this is the only product that is working and making the affected areas less painful. I will keep using this and I will post an update later on. My face also feels well moisturized the next morning when I use this emulsion and I rarely even get dry patches now on my face and that says a lot since I no longer use sheet mask or (hydrating) wash off mask anymore.

 

Overall: If you are someone who is dealing with sensitive/sensitized skin or has problem with eczema/dermatitis on your face and most moisturizers doesn’t work for you then you should definitely give this a try. This is one (if not the gentlest) emulsion/moisturizer I have tried so far. If you are very particular with your skincare’s ingredients, this is perfect for you. I honestly think that the price is justified. At first I thought RM80 price tag for a 50ml product is too expensive but you know what, I’ve changed my mind now.

Price & where to buy: This retails for RM80+ at Guardian & Watsons.

 

 

Disclaimer:  Opinions/thoughts are my own and I am always 100% honest with my reviews.

Leave a comment